LocJam – Let’s Translate a Japanese Game!

Here we have something I found on complete accident while browsing the internet.

LocJam is an international game localization contest. The objective is to translate a short, simple game (entitled Ikinari no Maou) from Japanese into English. It’s around 4000 characters, translateable in a day.

mahou

The game text isn’t terribly complicated. The grammar is easy and it’s written almost entirely in kana. The objective here isn’t really in simply understanding the Japanese text, though, but rather in rendering it in clean, understandable English.

The competition runs until December 25th. I’m, sadly, I a bit slow on the uptake, as I’ve only found out about it today. Still, I figured I might as well give it a shot, though I don’t think I have a great chance at winning. I’m not even a native English speaker after all!

The participants will be judged by a jury of professional translators. Among them sits Clyde Mandelin (of Legends of Localization fame) whom I’m a big fan of, so needless to say, I’m pretty pumped about this!

As for the prizes, you can win a Famicom Mini. It’s a pretty small prize, but clearly, the prize is not the important thing here. I had no idea such a contest even existed, and I’m so happy I found out about it, I think it’s an amazing idea!


If any of you have decided to participate upon reading this: feel free to let me know in the comments! I’d love to hear about your experiences.

One thought on “LocJam – Let’s Translate a Japanese Game!

Leave a Reply

